Talk about a baby boom…

8 Jun

I know about 3o people who are pregnant at this moment {who knows how many more are waiting to break the big news too}.  These blossoming mamas are scattered all over the U.S….mostly people I went to college with and some from a Mom’s group that I belong to.  But, thirty!!!…really??  Is there a true baby boom or is it just in my circle?

When I was pregnant with my first little monkey, {as I like to call both of my children} my wonderful friend Jenny {not McCarthy}, told me about a book I had to read and she loaned me her copy.  It was, Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy & Childbirth by Jenny McCarthy.  This was a welcome distraction for me during my miserable bout with 24/7 nausea and vomiting {I can’t even bring myself to calling that “morning sickness”}.

I was never a huge Jenny McCarthy fan.  But, everything that I found unattractive about her in the past, I loved about her in this book.  She is so candid, animated, vulgar, uninhibited, honest, hilarious…I could go on and on and on.

Now, I am not proud to say this, but I am not a big reader.  Something must be really good or really important if I am going to read.  This was just really good.  I couldn’t put it down.  I read the book cover to cover in a couple of hours, laughing out loud, {and if you know me well, you know, I don’t laugh too easily} and even reading excerpts to my husband {he didn’t get it…it’s a book for pregnant gals, not squeamish baby-daddies}.

I’ll put it plain and simple:  this is a fun and easy read if you are comfortable with bathroom humor and bodily excretions/secretions.  However, it is not for the faint of heart.  Enjoy!!

One Response to “Talk about a baby boom…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not so “lucky number seven”… « My Mama Life… - November 1, 2010

    […] one that scares most parents because so many {including the author of one of my favorite pregnancy books, Jenny McCarthy} have accused it of causing […]

Leave a Reply

