Firsts…

10 Jun

My children’s “firsts” are always a little bittersweet for me.  It is wonderful to see them reach developmental milestones and I always feel so blessed to have such healthy and happy babies {I know all too well that my scenario is not always the case for others}.  So where does the bitter part come in?  They grow up so fast!!  With every milestone they grow farther and farther away from being my babies and closer and closer to becoming grown-ups.

Today was my little girl’s first ever ballet class.  I have looked forward to this day for as long as I have dreamed about being a mommy…long before I ever had confirmation that I was expecting a little girl of my own.

Today was not only my little one’s first organized dance class, it was also her first time in a class without me {or occasionally her daddy}.  We have done plenty of activities and had tons of experiences, but everything thus far has been “Mommy & Me” style.

This morning I was thrilled {and so was she} to help dress her in her pink ballet attire and carefully tie her curls back into pigtails with white ribbon.  We have been preparing for this class for about a week too…talking about all the fun things she was going to do, getting a teacher, meeting new friends, etc.  I even casually threw in that she would get to go all-by-herself…”like a big girl!”  Overall, our “first” went well.  There were a few sad faces, momentarily tear-filled eyes {surprisingly, not mine}, minimal participation in the class {but I have high hopes for the weeks to come}, and a few visits to mommy at the window.  Yes, I was that close…we really weren’t apart at all!

4 Responses to “Firsts…”

  1. Bethany June 10, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    This is so sweet! You were always so good at ballet! I WISHED I would’ve been given the opportunity to learn dance, but at least my own daughter gets to! She is in her 5th year of ballet and 7th year of tap…and she does jazz also. I LOVE it! You know the apple won’t fall far from the tree!

    • rn2mommy June 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

      Thanks, Bethany! You are always so complimentary of my dancing. I was never that great, but I enjoyed it. That video you posted on facebook almost scared me out of starting her!! Of course, if dance classes take that route, we’ll be heading for the soft-ball fields. We may be doing that anyway!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On the road again… « My Mama Life… - August 2, 2010

    […] to travel or get out of the house…we’re just always happy to return home.  This “first” outing was loooooong […]

  2. Ballerina Girl « My Mama Life… - September 23, 2010

    […] mommy or daddy by her side.  There were tears and a little separation anxiety, but that was then and this is […]

Leave a Reply

