I’m a believer…

15 Jun

I thought I had a lot of experience {compared to other non-mommies} in the baby department.  My little sister was born when I was 10 years-old and I loved “helping” take care of her.  In high school I was a lifeguard and taught swimming lessons.  I always tried to teach the beginners class because I just adored the little ones.  In college, I was a nanny for a darling baby boy.  In nursing school, I succeeded in having all of my clinical experiences surround babies and children except for one half-semester with adults {yuck!} and my labor & delivery rotation {♥}.  Once I was actually an RN, well… I’ve already talked about that…babies, babies, babies!!

So, I was completely shocked {and definitely not a believer} when I found myself in a nursing conference listening to this doctor speak about his discovery.  Dr. Karp was a wonderful speaker {a comedian, really}.  He had my attention from the beginning even though I was a skeptic.

He showed video clips of himself meeting with parents of “colicky” babies.  He did the most simple things…things that EVERY parent/babysitter/caretaker tries on a fussy/crying/furious baby.  Every time he was able to calm the baby.  EVERY TIME!!  I had tried the swaddling, the shushing, the pacifier, the rocking, and the position changes before…those things do not always calm a fussy baby…right?!?!

I left the conference room impressed by his skill, but almost annoyed by the “infomercial” I had sat through.  I felt like he was trying to sell something that was SO obvious and take credit for developing a calming method that was common sense.

Dr. Karp’s book, The Happiest Baby on the Block, made the required reading list at my job.  So, I read it….and I enjoyed it.  It was an easy read.  It had humor.  It had funny cartoon drawings.  I learned a lot, and I loved everything that I learned.

Within a few weeks, I found that I was able to calm my client’s babies during our visits with the 5S methods I learned from Dr. Karp’s lecture and from the book.  Although I had tried similar methods before, they were not the method.   I was a believer!

I re-read the book when I was expecting my daughter.  My husband read it too.  We were ready to use the methods only in the case of emergency.  We would never have a “colicky” baby….right?!?!

We had never been so WRONG!  More on that to come…

{P.S.  The Happiest Baby on the Block also comes in DVD.  I have seen it many, many, many times.  I prefer the book!}

3 Responses to “I’m a believer…”

  1. laura @ hollywood housewife June 22, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    I watched the DVD when my baby was super newborn. We swaddled but the sideways position never worked for her. Well, it would work for a minute, but never long term.

    Lucky for us, she was never a crazy crier. Maybe I’ll try the book. I’ll still a little skeptical of the DVD.

    • rn2mommy June 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      Wasn’t the DVD so repetitive?? I couldn’t take it!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Is it colic?? « My Mama Life… - June 24, 2010

    […] in her mouth…every night, all evening long.  Dr. Karp’s 5S method {that I raved about last week} worked wonders for us, but as soon as we would take a break, the screaming started again.  Our […]

Leave a Reply

