NO more monkeys jumping on the bed!!

21 Jun

I have heard so many recommendations about when a baby/child should have their first dental appointment…when their first teeth appear {that seemed too early}, around the time of their  first birthday {still seemed early}, or when they have at least 10 teeth {well, that’s a little more like it}.  It seems like one of the only recommendations that is consistent is that once that first baby tooth arrives, it’s time to start brushing. 

My daughter had her first dental appointment today.  Based on any of the above recommendations,  I  should have taken her long ago.  I did follow all the other “rules” that I knew about caring for baby teeth, and it paid-off!  No cavities!!!  Yeah!!

But, today I got confirmation of something I have known about for a few weeks…my baby girl has a “dead” tooth.  Fortunately, it’s just a baby tooth…a new permanent tooth will eventually replace it.  Unfortunately, it’s just a baby tooth…so our dentist will not do anything cosmetic to correct the discoloration.

So, how did this happen?

I have mentioned before how I occasionally get lax on my safety rules around the house and how I almost always regret it.  This was one of those times… actually, this was THE time.  Olive has always loved to bounce…she is a very active girl.  So, when she was even littler than she is now, I would let her bounce on the bed while supervised.  As she got older, I started catching her jumping on the bed unsupervised AND jumping on the bed with friends. Her balance and coordination was so great that I didn’t worry too much about her falling off of the bed, but I worried about her friends getting hurt at our house.  What I should have worried about was someone {in this case, my little girl} taking an accidental head-butt to the mouth.

The rules are now officially back in place.  No matter how much fun she is having.  No matter how cute her dress looks billowing up and down with each bounce.

If you have questions about this or any of my other poor parenting decisions, you can find me outside the bounce-house at the next birthday party.  I’m the mom anxiously watching my child; not because I must have an eye on her at all times {well, maybe that too}, but because my stares alone will prevent this from ever happening again…right?!?

6 Responses to “NO more monkeys jumping on the bed!!”

  1. Bethany June 21, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    I say, no dentist til permanent teeth…they’re all gonna fall out anyway! HAHA JK – My two have already cost me well over 2,000 dollars for the work on their baby teeth! They really rob ya! They know you have to have stuff done, and w/no dental insurance, makes for quite an expensive visit! :0) I am deathly afraid of the dentist…..probably because of how much they charge!

    • rn2mommy June 22, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      I’m deathly afraid of the dentist too. Probably because I had several teeth pulled when I was little and I always seem to have cavities. I rarely have a pleasant visit that consists of only a cleaning 😦

  2. Theresa Salas June 22, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    Oh Annie, I love your blog it is awsome and you are such a wonderful mom!

    • rn2mommy June 22, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      Thanks, Theresa! I’m glad it is entertaining for someone other than just me 🙂

  3. Sarah June 22, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    I love reading your blog. I was laughing so hard reading your pizza man store – you are brilliant! Love love love it!

    • rn2mommy June 22, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      Thanks, Sarah! I was more desperate than brilliant, but I appreciate the compliment.

Leave a Reply

