A mother’s sleep-aid

15 Jul

When I was pregnant with my daughter my husband and I registered for the Sony Baby Call Monitor.  It had great range, perfect clarity, a rechargeable battery {that actually holds a great charge}, multiple channels, and an out-of-range signal…what more could a parent ask for??

Well, just a few weeks  into my daughter’s life, I found it almost impossible to get any rest.  I was SO worried about my daughter even though she was in a bassinet right by my bed.  I would hover over her just to watch for her next breath…and the next…and the next.  After watching a marathon of Miami Ink that seemed dedicated to memorial tattoos for people who lost a child to SIDS, I couldn’t take it anymore…I immediately sent my husband out for the Angelcare Movement & Sound Monitor.

Instant PEACE OF MIND!!  I should have just bought this monitor in the first place.  But, I didn’t want to be one of those moms…I wanted to be a relaxed and confident mom. That is just not me…and I accept that now.

This monitor is a little staticky {the newer models may not be} and it has given us a few false alarms {at least, I like to believe they are false-alarms}, but the pros of this monitor completely outweigh the cons.  It is so sensitive to movement that I can’t even leave the ceiling fan running in my son’s room {yes,you can adjust the sensitivity}.  It was a little overwhelming to set up the first time, but after that it is simple and easy.  We have used it in hotel cribs to pack-n-plays.

This is my FAVORITE {and if you know me well, you know that picking a favorite ANYTHING is hard for me to do!} baby product by far…anything that can help a new {and nervous} mom get some sleep is well worth it!

4 Responses to “A mother’s sleep-aid”

  1. Jann July 15, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    When Jim was a baby (40 years ago!!!), there was no such thing to monitor your sleeping infant. I, like you, worried about SIDS, and would have rested so much better with a monitor like this one. Luckily, he sailed through the ‘danger zone’ years without incident! Imagine my horror in later years when second-hand smoke was linked to SIDS….I had been a one-pack-a-week smoker back then, and that little baby was exposed to my nasty cigarette smoke!!! Even though there might be more things to worry about now, at least we ‘know’ about them and can take steps to ensure the safety of our little ones. Hugs!

    • rn2mommy July 15, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      I can’t believe Jim is 40!!! How did that happen?? Well, he is definitely a young forty, that’s for sure!

      There are probably just as many things to worry about now as there were 40 years ago, ‘knowing’ is the only thing that has changed. Ignorance is bliss??

  2. Wyn-Erin July 21, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    My favorite sleep-aid continues to be our video monitor (Summer Infant Day & Night Handheld Color Video Monitor). When we registered for this item (over 3 years ago), we had no idea that it was such a revolutionary concept. To this day when people see it, they can’t believe it has audio AND video. When we moved our daughter to her own room at 5 months, it was wonderful to be able to still see her and know she was OK. Now they make video monitors with huge screens and ones you can plug into your computer and view from anywhere. Technology is wonderful!

    • rn2mommy July 22, 2010 at 8:08 am #

      You all do have an awesome baby monitor. If I had a video monitor maybe I wouldn’t make multiple trips into my children’s rooms every night to check on them. But, I think the NICU nurse in me loves my AngelCare monitor because it alarms when there is a problem…something I am very used to at work!

Leave a Reply

