Diapers {name brand VS generic}

21 Jul

Finding the perfect diaper is very similar to finding the perfect fit in a pair of jeans.  It all depends on the baby and the body that you are purchasing for.  One brand of diapers may fit and work perfectly for one baby and not so much for another.

My hands-down favorite diapers are Pamper’s Swaddlers.  They are SO soft, flexible, and appear to be comfortable.  They have been perfect for both my little girl and my little boy.  I only wish they continued to make them past size 3 {because with my giant babies, we don’t get to wear Swaddlers for long}. Pampers also makes Baby Dry and Cruisers…they just don’t compare to the Swaddlers.

When my daughter was about a year old, I finally got smart.  I was tired of wasting money on diapers that only got worn for a few hours before they were soiled and thrown away.  I felt like I was throwing my money away!  So, I tried generic.  Target-brand diapers worked great, so I attempted even cheaper…Wal-Mart-brand.  Seriously, they worked!  No problems with leaks, no rashes {ugh…my daughter was ridiculously allergic to Huggies!}. I was so proud of all the money I was saving.   Olive wore them for another year until she was potty-trained.

When I had my little boy I thought I would save money from the get-go and head straight to the generic diapers.  I don’t know if it is a boy thing or if Wal-Mart changed their formula, but those diapers repelled urine.  There were leaks everywhere which equaled linen changes, outfit changes, and lots of laundry.  Mama was NOT happy.  I couldn’t get the Pampers Swaddlers on my boy quick enough.  My daughter was thrilled to inherit an entire box of diapers for her baby dolls {nothing goes to waste at our house!}.

When my little AJ outgrew Swaddlers I went back to Target-brand (now called, Up&Up). No rashes, no leaks, perfect fit, and I couldn’t resist the blue and green polka-dot print that  looks so darling on my little guy.

I have never been brave enough to purchase a gigantic box of store-brand diapers from Sam’s, but I have heard good things about Costco-brand diapers. One type of diaper I have never tried,{but I am really interested in} are cloth diapers.  The cute styles available these days seem nothing like the cloth diapers of my childhood. If there are any cloth-diapering mamas out there, please share your opinion.  All of the parental figures in my life warn me to steer clear of the earth-friendly cloth diapers {apparently their experiences were pretty traumatizing!}.

So, don’t just take my word for it.  Get out there and diaper shop…it is nowhere near as stressful or depressing as finding the perfect pair of jeans!

4 Responses to “Diapers {name brand VS generic}”

  1. katk July 22, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    🙂

  2. Kelly Cook July 22, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    You should absolutely try cloth diapers! I love them, and I will never go back to disposables. If you have time to do a 2-3 extra loads of laundry per week, it is totally worth it. CDing today is nothing like it was 30 years ago! If you really want to try it I know of a fantastic CD trial program.

    • rn2mommy July 22, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      Kelly,
      I would be interested in a trial program! Please let me know the details!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Walk of shame… « My Mama Life… - November 15, 2010

    […] the red carpet in Hollywood…for this special even my baby was wearing Costco’s Kirkland diapers {I am still trying to decide what to blame…the diapers or a residual stomach-bug??  Maybe […]

Leave a Reply

