The pound…

25 Jul

I have an insatiable sweet tooth.  I can’t help it….it’s genetic.

I dream of someday having a cookie shop.  I love to bake sweets THAT much.

Obviously, there is a huge discrepancy between the places my education and the places my dreams will take me {although there are a TON of sweets in all the nurse break rooms I have been in, so maybe I’m not that far off}.

In honor up my husband’s upcoming birthday, I’m sharing his favorite cake {click on the link to see it, it’s not my recipe, just a recipe I found and love to make}.  I know I can’t go wrong when the main ingredients are sugar, butter, and cream cheese.  And, although I love a beautiful cake/cookie/sweet-of-any-kind, I am NOT a decorator.  I love simple sweets that taste amazing and if they happen to be beautifully decorated {by someone other than me} then that is just…umm, icing on the cake!

This cake isn’t the typical birthday cake, but the hubby loves it.  It’s amazing with coffee, perfect with ice cream, and is a delicious “shortcake” for strawberry shortcake.  I am sure there are many other wonderful varieties I should try as well, but my husband prefers to eat all of his sweets with a glass of cold milk, so that’s usually as fancy as it gets around here.

I love that Allrecipes.com provides nutritional information for all of their recipes. It is important for me to be aware of what I’m eating to stay healthy, but this recipe is so much more enjoyable when that info is avoided!

7 Responses to “The pound…”

  1. Jann July 26, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Thanks for sharing this recipe, Annie! Went to the link and read the reviews. There are some pretty good tips and ideas to help it turn out right and/or add a taste twist. I love AllRecipes, too. Actually, I love being able to use the internet to find recipes for so many things. Have to make myself stop reading all of them, though, ’cause time gets away fast! Oh, I agree that one shouldn’t look at the calorie count on this little beauty, though. Scary 🙂

    • rn2mommy July 27, 2010 at 8:37 am #

      Me too, Jann! I only attempt the five-star recipes..and, I’m sad to see that this recipe has fallen from a 5 star! It turns out so great…even now that I’m doing high-altitude baking.

  2. Sarah July 26, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    So fun!!! Have I mentioned I love following your blog! You have such a cute sweet family!

    • rn2mommy July 27, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      Thanks, Sarah! I love following your blog. Talk about a cute and sweet family….your girls are precious!

  3. Mandi August 20, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    Yum! We have this baking in the oven right now. Love how good it smells. Thanks for the idea!

    • rn2mommy August 20, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

      I hope you like it, Mandi!

      You need to share some secrets of baking with three! How do you find the time?? I know, you’re just that amazing… I have seen you in action!

      • Mandi August 20, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

        Annie, thank you soooo much for sharing this recipe! How simple and delicious! I took some over to our neighbors… to be friendly and in fear we’d eat the whole thing. :0) Mia loves to help me bake, just as you mentioned Olive likes to do with you. Daddy came home from work and did baby duty, Clifton played with the boys next door and Mia and I had some time together in the kitchen. Bliss! And your compliment was too sweet. We are in total chaos most of the time. LOL

Leave a Reply

