Is it winter yet??

9 Sep

I loathe winter…it is actually my least favorite season by far.  But, the other day I found this {click on the link to view} recipe for a Banana Nut Winter Smoothie on the lid of my Dannon yogurt.  If this is what winter is all about, then I’m ready!  I love a cool smoothie, just not being chilled to the bone by winter weather.

The verdict is still out…is this a healthy/diet drink or not?  Low-fat vanilla yogurt, bananas and walnuts??  I thought it sounded extremely healthy until I read the pesky nutritional information {but, that didn’t stop me}.  It is even tagged under “dessert” recipes, as it should be…this smoothie is just that delicious.

I love that I have all these ingredients on-hand in my kitchen.  Even frozen bananas…yes, frozen.  I buy bananas every week and if any of them become a little too ripe, I throw them in the freezer and defrost them when they are needed for baking {banana muffins, banana-nut bread, etc.}

I made my Banana Nut Winter Smoothie exactly as written and it was perfect.  And, the optional honey??  In my opinion, honey is NEVER optional…It is THE best sweetener. It rarely disappoints!! {I could devote an entire post to my love for honey…possibly even an entire blog!}.

So, bring on fall/winter and all the comfort foods.  I guess I should invest in some comfy sweaters to hide all of my anticipated smoothie weight.  I hope you enjoy!  {Please note this is not a baby/toddler safe recipe because of the nuts and honey!}

– – – – –

Update {September 13}:  I got a little too anxious to have another one of these smoothies, so I froze bananas fresh from the store…not the same outcome!  The overly-ripe frozen bananas are definitely the best and they are so much easier to peel!

2 Responses to “Is it winter yet??”

  1. Kelly Cook September 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    I tried this with soy yogurt and it was fantastic; thanks for sharing! Also, I love your tip of freezing overripe bananas. It seems so obvious but I never thought to do that!

  2. rn2mommy September 12, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    I’m so glad you liked it, Kelly! And, soy…maybe I need to give that a try…maybe that will bring the calories down on this treat so I won’t have to feel so guilty!

    Frozen bananas…I can’t take credit for the idea, but that is probably one of the best pieces of advice I have ever been given…haha!

Leave a Reply

