Bragadocious

28 Sep

Siblings…are they not the greatest gift?  I have siblings, but I was basically raised an only child.  I would have loved to have a full-time sibling to share my childhood, make memories, and grow up with…back then and even now. Is there ever such thing as too many people to love {and who love you} in your life?  I don’t think so.

Bringing a new little person into your household when you already have a child can be daunting though.  It’s nothing like getting that new puppy that you hope is well accepted with your pre-existing pets.  There is no returning or exchanging of the “family member” that doesn’t get along.  And, a very common question among mommies of multiple children is…”how did he/she do with the new baby’s arrival?”  And, it is not uncommon for mommies to  share their challenges and triumphs of expanding their family.

With every new addition to your family, there is money to be spent…preparing for a new baby to arrive on the scene is expensive and almost doubly expensive when you find yourself gifting your first born to reassure them they are still special.  But, there are some things money can’t buy…like bragging to your baby {100% credit to my amazing husband!}.

I talked to my daughter all the time when she was a newborn.  I doted on her practically all day…telling her how much I loved her, how beautiful she was, explaining every little thing we did {even when she probably didn’t understand}.  When I had my son I tried to be chatty with him too, but as my daughter watched and quietly listened to every word, I felt like I was cheating on her with him!  I felt so guilty that I became mute until my husband reminded me that AJ wouldn’t understand if I was talking about Olive to him…I just needed to talk to him!  So, I started to brag.  I bragged about the best big sister in the entire world right in front of her.  It reminded me of the days in college I spent taking psychology classes…how people often meet the expectations others have for them or become the person others believe they are {I even use this technique on new moms that I am discharging from the hospital.  I always say “You are going to be a wonderful mom!” even if she appears to be the opposite.  It is my way of saying, “I believe in you…now get out of here and go do what is right!!”}.  Olive has surpassed every bit of bragging I did about her…she loves, she shares, she plays, she cares… but the bragging couldn’t have hurt, right?!

4 Responses to “Bragadocious”

  1. things that cheer me up September 28, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    you know it’s funny you mention this because I started talking to my daughter literally since the day she was born and I like to believe that is the reason why she started talking 8 month old. I had the same feeling of cheating on her when I became pregnant, I felt extremely guilty… BUT, we survived all of that and now we’re a cheerful family of four. cheers!

    • rn2mommy September 29, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      Yes, cheers to happy families! Thanks for your comment. I enjoyed browsing your blog 🙂

  2. Mandi September 30, 2010 at 9:42 am #

    That was the sweetest post!

    • rn2mommy September 30, 2010 at 10:18 am #

      You are so sweet to still be reading all of my updates! Not always the most interesting…especially to an amazing mom of three!

Leave a Reply

