PUMPKIN spice and everything nice…

1 Oct

Every year I am anxious for October to arrive.  I don’t appreciate that October seems to start the downhill slide into winter, but I do love that it marks the beginning of the holiday season {for me!} and tradition.

I have a fall tradition that consists of almost all things pumpkin…pumpkin candies,  pumpkin cookies, pumpkin breads, pumpkin candles, pumpkin house decor, pumpkin patches, and of course pumpkin photo ops!  Being a blond, I steer clear from any type of orange clothing, but pumpkin orange any and everywhere else seems perfect this time of year.

So, just in time for THE big football game, my alma mater versus the burnt orange, I share my favorite cookie recipe…pumpkin cookies {click on the  link}!!  I always make my first seasonal batch of pumpkin cookies for this game.  The only problem is pumpkin orange cookies imply that I am pro-Texas so I have to break out my sad decorating skills and add a little crimson and cream.

 

I have said it before...decorating is not my thing!

 

Here are the important details:  1.  Do NOT over-cook.  2. Remove from the baking sheet and place on wire rack to cool almost immediately.  3. Skip the “icing” and go straight for the cream-cheese frosting {I even make my own}. I think I have made these for 7 years now…they are amazing.

BOOMER!!

7 Responses to “PUMPKIN spice and everything nice…”

  1. Bethany October 1, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I knew I liked you for a reason!! I, too, am a HUUUUGGGEEEEE SOONERS FAN!!! My husband has been a die hard fan forever, and I married into it – but for over 10 years now, I have officially fallen in love with the Sooners! Can’t wait for the big game tomorrow!

    • rn2mommy October 1, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      I’m not a huge sports fan in general, but it is hard not to LOVE the Sooners! I feel lucky to have had such an exciting college experience thanks to them. They even won the national championship when I was there!!

  2. Mr. P October 1, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    Pumpkin Cookies FTW! Lets’s Go Sooners!!!

    • rn2mommy October 1, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      I’m going to make them for you today, Babe 🙂

  3. Wyn-Erin October 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    I approve this message – the cookies ARE AMAZING! I steer clear of the ones with red decoration though. 🙂

    Hook ’em!

    • rn2mommy October 1, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

      The only reason I can say these cookies are amazing, is because it is not my recipe. I was just lucky enough to find it! My BMI…not as lucky (BMI jokes straight from The Greasy Spork :D).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. boobs {for a good cause} « My Mama Life… - October 6, 2010

    […] Last week I couldn’t wait to welcome October and the color orange, but October is obviously all about the pink!  There won’t be any problem finding color-appropriate clothing to show our support in this home {my lil’ girl may have her mama’s love for all things pink}! […]

Leave a Reply

