Walk of shame…

19 Oct

The “walk of shame”  has a whole new meaning to me as of last week.  It no longer entails giggling about silly girls who walked home in yesterday’s clothes, this is serious stuff.  This is the new “walk of shame.”

——-

It was an unusually peaceful and enjoyable morning.  I was out  running errands with my two babes and stopped  to shop for some fall clothes for them at Old Navy.  It was our third stop of the morning and things were going so smoothly…I can’t emphasize enough how perfect the day had gone so far.   I should have known I was in for it…

Then it happened.  My son had a massive blow-out diaper while I was peaking at Halloween costumes.  He is extremely sensitive to poopy diapers, so he had to let  everyone in the entire store know he was unhappy as I rushed him to the public restroom.  I was so frazzled, I thought I had forgotten my baby wipes when I looked through my bag, so I immediately wet some paper towels and headed for the store diaper changing station {which I have always refused to use in the past, but this was an emergency}.  My daughter reached to help me pull down the Koala changing station and somehow pinched her finger in its hinge and burst into tears.  After I consoled my daughter and won a wrestling match of a diaper change with my son, we emerged from the bathroom…my son wearing nothing more than a diaper since none of his actual clothes were salvageable.

When I fastened him in his car seat after we made a quick run to the register {I couldn’t leave behind all my super cute finds!} I finally saw his face from another view…poop smear down his cheek {how did poop get there??  It was just that bad}.  I imagine that while I was embarrassingly explaining to the cashier my baby’s lack of clothing {and also saying it loud enough for the customers in line behind me to hear} they were probably all just thinking “why didn’t you wipe his face” or maybe “we were really hoping that smear was just left-over broccoli from lunch…thanks for confirming our worst fears {gag}.”

Leaving that store, I may have reached my greatest public parenting embarrassment to date.  I was sweating as I crossed the parking lot with my watery-eyed and runny-nosed daughter {from her finger pinching experience} and my basically naked baby.  People were staring and I know they were  judging…how could they not???

Being the experienced mom that I am {haha}, I did have that extra outfit with me…just in the car {and to think I actually pride myself for not carrying a diaper bag!}.  The wipes??  They were in my purse the entire time.  And, just like they say on the red carpet in Hollywood…for this special event my baby was wearing Costco’s Kirkland diapers {I am still trying to decide what to blame…the diapers or a residual stomach-bug??  Maybe both.}.

——-

That was my “walk of shame”.  No groundhog day, please.

3 Responses to “Walk of shame…”

  1. Wyn-Erin October 20, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Oh my goodness, this is the funniest, most pitiful story I’ve ever heard! My favorite part is that you stood in line and bought the clothes. Not even a little poop on the face would make you shy away from a good deal! 🙂

    • rn2mommy October 20, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      I should have been more clear…I DID NOT see the poop on his face until after I had been through the line. Of course I would have cleaned it off had I known it was there! The poop streak was on the side of his face that everyone else could see, just not me because of the way that I was carrying him.

  2. Wyn-Erin October 21, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I understood that you did not see the poop streak. I know you wouldn’t knowingly walk little AJ around with poo on his little cheek. Still funny though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

