One…

14 Nov
This is part two…if you would like to first read part one, click here.

My bag was packed, my water was broken, and my contractions were a steady 5 minutes apart.  My husband and I headed down our street en route to the hospital.  During a surprising 6 minute break between contractions we briefly reflected on how our lives and our little family were going to change as a result of this little trip we were embarking on…those 6 minutes were the calm before the storm.  Somewhere between the suburbs and the highway my contractions went from 5 minutes to 1 minute apart without notice.  I had no choice but to climb out of my seatbelt and cling to the back of my chair. Eventually I found the courage to verbalize one of my bigger delivery fears to my husband, “I feel like I’m going to have this baby in the car.”

My husband nervously sped down I-25 at over 100mph {I had no idea at the time…all I knew was he wasn’t getting there fast enough}.  When I landed on the triage table on the Labor & Delivery unit I almost instantaneously heard the brakes click and the bed jolt over the room’s threshold…long florescent lights flashed over my head as I was rushed down the hall to an actual delivery room…the male triage nurse at my side denying me my epidural…denying me any and everything but  an all natural delivery…something I had NOT planned for.

I went to war with my body.  I did not want to cooperate.  I thought I was going to die.  Pain radiated through every muscle, every nerve, every cell in my body…I had never felt anything so intense or overwhelming.  I prayed through every contraction, every push, every short break…prayer was the only thing that got me through the situation that women {and ummmm, animals!} all over the world have experienced before…and so many of them, handled so much more effortlessly and beautifully than I could.

We have no idea what time we arrived at the hospital due to the mass chaos, but shortly after 2am my son was tucked safely in my arms.  It wasn’t a one push, no stress delivery, but my most important wish from my birth plan was granted.

I can’t believe a year has passed since that crazy night.  Today is the anniversary of the day I fell hard and fast for a boy…a toothless boy with a deeply receding hairline.  My heart has never been the same.

Happy 1st Birthday to my baby boy…

“I’ll love you forever,

I’ll like you for always,

As long as I’m living

my baby you’ll be.”

-Robert Munsch

6 Responses to “One…”

  1. Theresa Salas November 15, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Ilove it!! Oh and love the quote below…a story I read time and time again to my first born….it was “our story” and now that he is a teenager……I can still realate to the book 🙂

    • rn2mommy November 15, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

      Isn’t that the sweetest book! I have always loved it, but it didn’t apply as well to a little girl. I love to read “I Love You So…” by Marianne Richmond to my daughter. It is definitely “our story”. If you haven’t read that one to your little girl {or boy!} you should!

  2. Mandi November 21, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    Happy Birthday Sweet Boy and Lovely Momma! What precious memories. There is nothing like the 180 pain to join of a natural childbirth. You are stronger than you give yourself credit for.

    • rn2mommy November 21, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

      Thanks, Mandi! Did you go all natural with all three of yours? I know you did with baby D because I read and enjoyed your birth story! If I have more children, I have to have a c-section, but I don’t know that I would sign myself up for another natural birth if I had a choice. The experience was amazing though…and something I am happy that I got to experience now that it’s all over with.

      • Mandi November 21, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

        Annie, I had all natural with Mia and Dallas. Mia’s was a water birth but super fast… Like you, we were in a rush (hour and a half from center, on Christmas Day!) and things were mad chaos from the minute we got there. I wanted to go all natural and never had the chance to change my mind. With Dallas, I was really on the fence and many times wanted the epidural, but again had no choice because once I asked for it, he was coming! Your picture that goes with this post is so sweet. You are a fabulous mommy!

        • rn2mommy November 21, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

          Sounds like you got THE GREATEST Christmas gift of all!! No, you are fabulous…I am a mess! Don’t think for a minute I have things under control just because I blog about it.

Leave a Reply

