Lazy Daisy Birthday…

22 Nov

Today is the day I was born.  On the actual day many years ago, it was Thanksgiving Day.  My mom still says it was the best day of her life.  I’m her only child so she can safely say that.  Now that I’m a mom myself, I can understand how a day ridden with stress and pain can turn out to be the most special and memorable day of your life.  Sadly, I didn’t realize it was her day just as much as it was my day until I had my Olive.

My mom usually bakes me one of my favorite cakes around the time of our special day, but today I made my cake with my daughter.  I know some may think it’s strange to bake your own birthday cake, but nothing beats a homemade, from scratch cake in my opinion {my husband said he planned to buy one}.  It’s also fun to share some time in the kitchen with my little girl~ it was the recipe for a pretty perfect birthday.

So, here is my Mama’s recipe {I imagine it has been published at one time or another, I just don’t know where, so hopefully I’m not doing anything illegal by writing it here}…

Lazy Daisy Oatmeal Cake

1 1/4 cups boiling water

1 cup Quaker Oats

1/2 cup butter; softened

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Pour boiling water over oats, cover, and let stand for 20 minutes.  Beat butter until creamy.  Add sugar gradually and beat until fluffy.  Blend vanilla and eggs.  Add oats and mix well.

Combine dry ingredients and add to creamed mixture.  Pour batter into well-greased and floured 9″ square pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes.  Do not remove from cake pan.

Frosting

1/4 cup melted butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 tbsp. milk

3/4 cup shredded coconut

Combine all ingredients for frosting.  Spread over cake immediately after baking.  Broil until frosting is bubbly {this only takes a few minutes~ don’t let it burn!}

Once again, this is not a traditional birthday cake {and my picture does not do it justice}, but it is one of my favorites.  It is an even better breakfast cake if it can make it through the night.  That is unlikely.

Leave a Reply

