Oh, Christmas Tree!

5 Dec

I was so excited as my daughter’s second Christmas approached.  She was 17 months old and although she didn’t really understand Christmas, she was excited about all that was going on around the house.  We chose a safe spot in our home to display our tree and ripped open all of the lights and ornaments.  My daughter soon found a “ball” and immediately threw it down on the floor…it didn’t bounce as she expected…it shattered into a million pieces.  One of her “Baby’s 1st Christmas”, mommy’s favorites, hand-painted {not by me}, thought I would cherish for forever ornaments was history.  I screamed…Olive cried…I cried.  It was horrible.  The rest of that Christmas-season went off without a hitch.  Olive spent her afternoons sitting, snacking, and reading on the presents under our tree…those images are a few of my husband’s and I’s favorite memories.

Now fully-knowing my attachment to certain Christmas ornaments I decided to leave every one of my pretty glass ornaments in their bubble wrap, packed away in their special Christmas-colored storage box.  Last year a few of my favorites perished again on the tile floors of our new home.  I knew there would only be more casualties this year with a newly walking and very curious toddler BOY in the house!

I have heard of people putting their trees on tables or only decorating the upper-half of their tree.  I couldn’t do it.  Having a pretty, and might I add, REAL Christmas tree is just part of the Christmas season for us.  So, I hit up the $1 isle at Target and spent $8 on 50+ sparkly, non-glass, unbreakable bulbs.  My kiddos and I dug out all of the tin, wood, and material ornaments we already had and we decorated the tree together.  The only thing that would have made it more of a perfect Christmas memory was Christmas music playing in the background…instead it was my daughter’s choice-another Disney princess movie.

Maybe keepsake ornaments will visit our tree again next year.  Beauty isn’t everything!  Peace of mind while my kids {and cat} enjoy their Christmas tree is!

Leave a Reply

