Another Holiday…another craft!

18 Dec

I have been so busy lately…just living life…trying to read, trying to squeeze in an occasional workout, playing with my little ones…it has been hard to find any extra time to blog.  That’s okay though…blogging is something I enjoy doing for myself and everything that has taken its place is for me too…so, it all evens out.

This may be shocking, but last year {and the year before} I did a Christmas craft with my little ones.  I’ll spare you all another painted footprint craft, {although I do have one of those for Christmas as well!} and move on to the traditional handprint/footprint imprint ornaments!  

You can find the recipe here.  These ornaments are made out of ingredients that everyone always has in their home, so it’s nice to not have to plan ahead…this can be a spur of the moment type of craft.  { A little nursing note: If you want to save a few pennies you can use un-iodized salt for this recipe, but the salt that you consume on a regular basis should be iodized…for thyroid health!}

I followed the recipe instructions, but instead of poking a hole in the dough {so it can be hung as an ornament} I cut a paper-clip in half and pressed into the back of the the dough before baking.  After the ornaments were done baking and cooling, I painted them white {the dough itself dries a light tan color), then painted the actual imprints and used a spray shellac to seal the entire piece after all the paint was dry.  My favorite ornament turned out to be the one I made with an extra piece of dough and squeezed both of my babies’ footprints on together.  I kept one set of ornaments for my family, and the others I gave away as Christmas presents to Grandparents.

This is what my daughter was up to while I was busy making Christmas gifts…

Same recipe… I just helped my daughter use cookie cutters for the shapes and handed over the paint, sprinkles, and glitter.  After they were dry, I used a spray shellac to seal these as well.

Enjoy!!

7 Responses to “Another Holiday…another craft!”

  1. Babygirl December 18, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    This is such a cute post

  2. Jann December 18, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Annie, I might try doing this with Oliver and Eloise while they are here! They aren’t too old to enjoy making these and they could date them and give them to their grandparents, too! Merry Christmas to you and Antonio and your sweet little Olive and AJ…Love, Jann & Don

  3. Jann December 18, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Annie, what kind of paint and shellac did you use?

  4. rn2mommy December 18, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you all too, Jann!

    I should have mentioned that I used acrylic paint on the ornaments that I painted. I let Olive use Crayola kids washable paint {you can buy a pack of 10 tubs for about $6} …they both turned out great. And, the shellac…I bought a can in the craft isle at Walmart. I don’t remember what the brand was, but I do remember I should have bought a mask to wear because even though I was outside {and trying to hold my breath} when I sprayed them, the fumes were potent! Just blame any silly things I say/write on that experience!

    Have fun with Oliver and Eloise!

  5. Theresa Salas December 20, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Love, love, love this!! thank you!! oh and I would like to know your idea for Christmas footprint craft. I love how you make thier footprints into so manythings. I never thought about it till I saw yours so thank you!!!

    • rn2mommy December 20, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

      Hey, Theresa! I also make snowmen out of footprints…similar to the Halloween ghost and the Thanksgiving Turkey. Just do a white footprint, let it dry, then use markers to draw on a snowman face in the heel of the footprint, then add a scarf/hat, and twig arms. You can even add a snowy landscape and pinetrees to decorate the paper. That’s it…nothing difficult at all!

      Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

