Snow day- numero uno

2 Feb

It doesn’t seem like we got a ton of snow or ice in the area that I live, but all the schools in the area have closed.  My children aren’t actually in school, but our regular weekly activities have been canceled as well, so we have been home with nowhere to go for two days now.

Day One’s activity itinerary ended up looking something like this:

9am: Salt-dough ornaments.  Yep, the same ones we made for Christmas only this time we cut out shapes with the Valentine cookie cutters and used some letters from this cookie decorating kit to add messages to our dough.  I would include a picture, but they may be Valentine’s gifts, so I can’t completely ruin the surprise.  Little AJ even enjoyed mashing out some dough, but his privileges were soon revoked after multiple attempts to taste-test our project.

12pm: Baking with my 3 1/2 year-old while my energetic 1-year-old caved to a one hour nap.  Olive and I turned our favorite oatmeal raisin cookie recipe into something more healthy….all whole wheat flour, no white sugar, and no butter.  {I know at least one friend of mine is smiling}.  They were surprisingly great…chewy and soft.  Even the husband raved about them!  I love that baking not only kills time and provides a snack, but it’s also a great lesson in measuring, counting, and patience {for all involved!}.

2:30pm: Painting.  Olive painted our baked and cooled ornaments from our morning activity, then painted paper on the new Christmas easel {thanks, Ganny!}, then moved to finger-paining {I didn’t even suggest that last activity…imagine that!}.

That may not seem like a full day, but when you add in preparing, serving, and cleaning up breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks; wrestling a little guy for multiple diaper changes, preparing and cleaning up the aforementioned activities, doing laundry, cleaning dishes, picking up toys, making beds, pouring countless cups of milk and other beverages, reading books, outfit changes and the million other little things I won’t even mention…it was a full day.  I ended it with a workout while watching some of my favorite trash tv on E! followed by a shower and a glass of red wine.

It’s hard to believe we have survived 2 days and a third snow day appears to be in the works….NoOooOOoo!

5 Responses to “Snow day- numero uno”

  1. Wyn-Erin February 3, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    We’re on snow day #3. I’m impressed by your activities. On day 1 we made cupcakes but other than that, it’s been a LOT of Candy Land and “princess cards” which is just Go Fish.

    How did you go without butter on your cookies??

    • rn2mommy February 3, 2011 at 11:23 am #

      I used Canola oil…just traded animal for vegetable fat.

  2. Theresa February 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I so feel you! its great when other mothers admit all of that so I know I’m not alone:) thanks for “keeping it real” and I wish is wasn’t so cold, cause I would have loved to join you for that glass 🙂

    • rn2mommy February 3, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      We definitely need to get together…maybe after my husband gets together with your husband to get our yard beautified!

      • Theresa February 5, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

        that would be great. anytime just let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

