Cord Safety!

10 Mar

I read a depressing article about a baby monitor recall a few weeks ago.  Of course, it’s not the baby monitor itself that was dangerous…it’s the cord to the baby monitor.  All household cords can pose a strangulation risk, but cords near cribs are especially dangerous because most children are left unattended for longs periods of time while in their cribs.

This is how I have managed the cord situation on my AngelCare monitor.  I think this method of cord-wrangling could be used with any monitor that requires to be set-up close to the crib…possibly even with the video-monitors that were recalled.When I secured the cords to the crib for the first time {in 2007!!} our crib was brand-new and I thought painter’s tape would be the least-damaging to our crib’s finish.  Little did I know that within about 6 months little teeth-marks would line the crib’s edge making the appearance of the backside of our crib of little concern to me.

Above, I secured the remaining wire under the crib leaving only a short strand to extend to the outlet.

To finish, I firmly pressed a crib slat up against electrical box.  This entire safety measure only took a few minutes to complete.  I don’t know what baby monitor manufacturers are suggesting parents do with the cords, but this has worked well in my house for over 3 years now.  I was temped to use something more permanent to secure the cords, but the thought of staples becoming loose and ending up in my child’s mouth made tape an easy choice!

I still have a standard baby monitor in my daughter’s room.  It sits on top of her dresser and all the cords are neatly hidden and safely out-of-reach behind it.  If a monitor does not have to actually be attached to the bed or very close-by, tucking the cords behind furniture seems like one of the safest alternatives.

It is horrible to think that something parents use to insure their baby’s safety has actually taken lives.  But, almost anything can pose a danger to young children in one way or another.  It is ultimately up to parents to protect, monitor, and teach their children {when age appropriate} to safely exist in their environment.

Leave a Reply

