Links

24 Mar

I’ve been really, really behind on blogging lately.  I’m still living my life as a mom…busy reading kiddo-related stuff and children’s books.  Here are a few articles that I have found important as of late.

Looking Back

My son is 16 months old now, well over 20 lbs and still facing backwards in his car seat.  Why?  Because I love to hear him scream while I drive and have no clue what he is doing?  Because it brings me great joy to see his little legs scrunched against the backseat when I buckle him in?  I don’t know how we’re going to make it to the minimum of 2 years-old, but that is what the American Academy of Pediatrics is recommending these days.  No, it’s not new news, but it’s a hot topic of conversation these days among moms of young children.  I will abide in the best interest of my child’s head, neck, and spinal column…legs are just a little less important.

Car seat No-Nos

Way back in the month of June, I tried to share some of my car seat education {I trained with the firemen back in 2005!} to discuss some common safety mistakes that parents make when securing their kids in their car seats.  This article does a better job as it quickly flashes through 11 of the most common mistakes.  I am non-compliant on #6: Tethers.  Shame on me.  If our vehicle was equipped for tether use, I would start using them today.

What Not to Eat

This link does not apply to me, but is for all my preggo friends out there.  I always assume other people know what is considered safe and  NOT safe to eat while pregnant, and then I watch some preggo down a pack of licorice and am greatly disappointed.  Just kidding…I had no idea licorice was on the list of forbidden foods.  Thank goodness that is not a flavor I craved during pregnancy {or anytime really}.

The Sleepless Toddler

This last link was actually forwarded to me by my husband.  We have been having a tiny issue with our youngest not wanting to sleep.  AGAIN!  The first year of his life it was probably my fault that he was a poor sleeper.  I don’t like to let my children cry it out.  Especially for the first 6 months of life when babies haven’t even developed object permanence {knowing that something still exists even when they can’t see it}.  I didn’t want MY child to feel abandoned.   So here we are again…exhausted.  It’s nice to know that we {the parents} haven’t messed up this time.  We’ll just call it a developmental milestone…although this one won’t be going down in the baby book!

2 Responses to “Links”

  1. Stacie H March 31, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Soo happy you put the link about carseat safety. I can’t tell you how many times I see pics of kiddos in carseats not buckled in properly!! I often wonder if people don’t know, or just don’t take the time? Maybe this help remind them! Great links!

    • rn2mommy April 4, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      Thanks, Stacie. I have seen too many scary carseat pictures myself!

Leave a Reply

