RED, White & Blue…

9 Jul

A late update on our Fourth of July festivities…

This little guy saw fireworks for the first time and the loud popping and shooting flames made him run…CLOSER to the fireworks, NOT away.  He was a HUGE fan, mommy not so much.

The week leading up to Independence Day we celebrated by tie dying shirts {as seen above}.  I watched a Youtube video to learn how to do stripes for my son and a heart on my daughter’s {not pictured}.  If you want to check it out yourself search tie dye on youtube…you may get lucky like me and hear one of the seemingly professional Youtubers yelling “No, Dad!! I didn’t feed the dogs!!” as the video comes to a close {I don’t know why, but it really made me laugh at the time}.

Next, we {as in my children} decorated strawberries as I had seen on several blogs…they didn’t turn out so beautiful, but my kids had fun and they tasted way more delicious than they looked!

And finally, I share my favorite RED for the Red, White & Blue…THE Strawberry Basil Margarita!  I ran across this amazing recipe one night when I was craving a margarita and I didn’t even have to leave my house for a single ingredient…it was meant to be!!  This is my new summer favorite and I don’t know what I’m going to do when fresh strawberries go out of season…pumpkin margarita anyone??  Kidding!!  Even I think that sounds gross!

Leave a Reply

